How much are writers forgiven?

How much leeway does “artistic license” grant an author? I know that it varies across a wide spectrum of readers.Some readers are grossly offended at the slightest hint of anachronism. Others can discard inaccuracies in favor of storytelling. A lot depends on the genre.

As an author, I hope that readers can see the bigger picture and not get caught up in the gray area of artistic license. However, I also believe that authors owe it to their readers to write smart. Anything less is insulting.

As a reader, I must admit that if I am reading fiction of any kind I do not go out of my way to verify history as it’s presented to me in the story. However, if I happen across a bit of historical inaccuracy that I am aware of…IT DRIVES ME FLIPPIN’ NUTS.

Hmm…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

